The Different Kinds of Love

Love is a feeling more than like; it’s a deep sense of care and commitment towards a person. Love is kind and patient. However, the love you feel for a friend, family member, or romantic partner are all distinctly different things.

For the many types of love we commonly experience throughout our lifetime, here’s what they’re all about:

1. Eros (passionate love):

Eros is all about romance, passion, and attraction and it describes the intoxicating and thrilling emotions that the initial stages of a relationship can induce. Relationships often begin with passion, including infatuation and attraction. As exciting as this is, it is mostly a fusion element, designed to draw people together.

2. Pragma (enduring love):

Pragma is sometimes translated to practical love referencing the kind of love grounded in duty, commitment, and practicality. While this might apply well to the type of love that blossoms in an arranged marriage, this is also the love you see in long-standing relationships and life partnerships, like when you see an old couple that’s been together for decades. These are couples who find a way to make it work overtime.

Pragma requires a commitment to each other and might be thought of as a conscious choice or perhaps as the type of love that takes years to develop through bonding and shared experiences.

3. Ludus (playful love):

Ludus is very flirtatious and fun. It can be seen in the very early stages of relationships when two people are flirting, courting each other, and crushing on each other. It often involves laughing, teasing, and feeling giddy around a person. It’s very childlike in that way, though it can certainly evolve.

4. Agape love (universal love):

Agape is selfless love. It is described as a compassionate love for everyone, also known as universal loving-kindness. It’s the love you feel for all living things without question, that you extend knowingly without expectations for anything in return. It’s a very pure and conscious love. It’s the kind of Love God has towards us his children.

Read: Story Time: an Outstanding Kind of Love

5. Philia (deep friendship):

Philia is the love that develops over a deep long-lasting friendship. You feel very close to those with who you share this kind of love. You confide in them, trust them, and respect them on a very personal level. 

6. Philautia (self-love):

This love is all about self-love and self-compassion. The relationship we have with ourselves is very important and it needs to be nurtured. This type of love is important for our confidence and self-esteem, and it also influences how we interact with the world. Remember you can’t give what you don’t have.

7. Storge(familial love):

Storge is the love shared between family members (typically immediate family), and sometimes close family friends or friends from childhood. It differs from philia in the way that it’s reinforced by blood, early memories, and familiarity. There’s a reason people say “friends are the family you choose.” Storge is compassionate, protective, and deeply rooted in memory.

Read: “Being There”: Helping a Loved One Through Difficult Times

What other forms of love do you think I should have added? And which of these do you practice?


2 thoughts on “The Different Kinds of Love

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s